Blog, Blogging

Into the Darkness

Like anyone else, I have a side to me I’d rather not let be seen. A side I myself hate to see. And I’d be lying if I said I don’t believe there are shared similarities between each of our faces we keep hidden. We all have a creative side to our brain, and we all have that nagging logical side. We all have a closet of masks we’ve created—who we pretend to be; and we all have the cold hard truth we choose to cover up with those masks.

Then again, maybe not. Maybe I’m just projecting my own darkness upon the rest of the world.

All I know is that this side of me which I keep covered is, by today’s standards, especially frightening. Perhaps “frightening” isn’t the right word. It’s just a side that’s so… real, logical, and raw to such an extent that it’s the most primal, animalistic, and empty thing with thoughts just the same. Given the content of my blog, it’s a side of me that I’d never directly display in any post. But I was watching a new show on Hulu the other day called “Into the Darkness: The Body,” and in one scene the main character (a hit man serial killer) explained to his potential victims the reality of the world and his cold perspective on life.

I’m not sure I’ve ever resonated with something so intensely in my life.

I’ve included the monologue below:

“Would you define yourself as sane?
Everything you do outside of eat sleep shit fuck and kill is considered a symptom of insanity. There was a point during human evolution where some neuron pathway misfired and we all became self aware. That is to say, we became insane. We are balls of flesh and bone on a rock of ice spinning through a dark random universe designed only to survive. But then something happened in our DNA where we went “Hey, wait, what if I matter? What if it’s all about me?” Does a crazy person know he’s crazy? Yes; it’s called a conscience.”

Regarding the risk that I could make myself appear as having the cold detachment of a serial killer, I’m going to go ahead and end this post here. I hope you’ll check out the show on Hulu. It’s prefect for the Halloween Spirit that breathes in us all. 🎃 👻


Thanks for stopping by and checking out the post! Hope you liked it. If so, please do leave a like and don’t forget to follow along 🙂

Also, let me know what you all think. Does anybody ever have perspectives like this?

Talk soon,

Jordan Antonacci
SnapChat: jtantonacci
Instagram: jordanantonacci

2 thoughts on “Into the Darkness”

  1. It’s not: Everything you do outside of eat sleep shit fuck and kill is considered a symptom of insanity.
    It is: Anything you do other than eat, sleep, shit, fuck and kill is a symptom of insanity.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree to what you say. Maybe some people will never realize, but its there. There is monster in all of it. Imagine if somebody told you to give the hardest punishment to pedophile, what worst punishment would you give? That mere imagination is just the tip of the iceberg.

    Like

Leave a comment